Hera Nyx

Fashion is more than just a glamorous lifestyle!

Dear bloggers, Why do you blog?

14 Comments

Walk in clothes with clothes and shoes

While browsing through a few WordPress articles the other day I stumbled across one titled, “First Steps with WordPress.” The article did a good job familiarizing beginners with WordPress functions and layouts. As I read further in the article I came across a set of questions. It made me think about heranyx.com. My focus and purpose behind creating this blog in the first place. It inspired me to write this post. I want to share my thoughts with you so, here are the  questions along with my answers. Read and enjoy them!

1. What am I going to do with this? 

I’m going to use this blog to shake things up in the fashion world

2. Who is going to read this?

You, because you’re willing to listen and you’re intrigued by things past the surface

3. What kind of information will I be posting?

It’s fashion from my point of view. My passion, my journey, my thoughts & my visions

4. Why am I doing this?

I view things differently so, I want you to see where I’m coming from. Fashion is my outlet to express myself. It’s not just about the clothes. It’s about creative freedom. It’s about the visions in my head and finding ways to bring them to you. And sometimes I can’t find the words to help you understand. So, I paint pictures through my clothes, through my camera, and through other people. I’m doing this because this is who I am. There’s a story to tell and there’s a new light to share with the world.

5. Who am I doing this for?

I’m doing this for me and for you… the passionate, ambitious, & creative souls

6. How often am I going to be posting and adding information?

I promise not to force a post.  I believe in quality over quantity. I write when I’m inspired, I take pictures when I have a vision, and I post when I have something to share with the world.

***

Now, it’s your turn. Leave a comment below introducing yourself and your blog, then answer the questions above. Feel free to answer all the questions or just a few. It’s still early in the New Year of 2013 and this is a great exercise for you & your blog! I look forward to hearing your thoughts & checking out your blog!

Author: Hera Nyx

You can call me Hera for short. I would describe myself as a free spirit, eccentric, wild flower; lover of fashion, art, and everything in between. My mind is filled with soooo many ideas…it gets kind of crazy up there. I’m working on perfecting the translation, but sometimes I wish I could just take a snap-shot of my visions instead. I’m all for trial and error though. It makes life thrilling. You know… taking risks, succeeding,trying, and failing, with intentions to be better. All in all I feel good about where I am in life. I’m sure of myself. Like Janelle Monae said, “I feel myself truly becoming the fearless person I have dreamt of being.”

14 thoughts on “Dear bloggers, Why do you blog?

  1. Hi, It’s Melissa
    http://www.melissachanel.com

    1. What am I going to do with this?
    I’m a lover for fashion and natural hair s o this is what my blog reflects, I do this because my love to break into the industry and be my own boss!

    2. Who is going to read this?
    Fashion and Natural Hair lovers, bloggers, friends, supporters, and everyone who wants to learn more about me and my passion….you never know who’s watching.

    3. What kind of information will I be postings?
    I will be posting interesting hair topics, my personal style with outfit post, and great fashion finds that i come across.

    4. Why am I doing this?
    This is my passion and it’s an outlet to let others know what I love. I would always get questions about what to wear or what hair products would i use on my hair. This blog answers all those type questions.

    5. Who am I doing this for?
    I’m doing this for myself. Learning and growing in my passion for fashion. I am doing this for the all the women who have a dream and GO for them. My blog has brought me so many great opportunities and I can’t wait to see what 2013 has in store.

    6. How often am I going to be posting and adding information?
    I’ve committed to posting three days a week. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. If I have things that I just can’t hold in a day longer I will pop up on Tuesday and Thursday!

    This is a great post!!! I love all the responses.

    • Love your passion Melissa. The things you’ve accomplished and will continue to accomplish are an inspiration to others. Keep doing what you love.

  2. HEY! I’m Nneji! My blog site is http://www.NaturallyNaija.com

    1. What am I going to do with this?
    I’m chose to use my blog as more of a personal/lifestyle blog. Just about everything that happens in my daily life.

    2. Who is going to read this?
    People who enjoy lifestyle blogs. Not catered to one area or another.

    3. What kind of information will I be postings?
    I will be posting about all of the things that relate to ME! Whether it be, charities, latest products, technologies or fashion.

    4. Why am I doing this?
    It’s fun! I’ve always wanted to have a blogging platform & I’m glad I finally gave it a shot!

    5. Who am I doing this for?
    I’m doing this for everyone. I put my personality in my posts to show that I am an everyday girl taking a journey in this thing called life.

    6. How often am I going to be posting and adding information?
    I’ve committed myself to posting once or twice a week.

    I really enjoy reading through your blog!

    • Nice to meet you Nneji! I enjoy reading personal/lifestyle blogs. I’m glad you gave blogging a shot to share your journey with your readers. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I will check out your blog.

  3. Hey there! I am Kelley. Most people tell me that my happiness is contagious. My blog site is http://www.iaminfectiouslyhappy.com.

    1. What am I going to do with this?
    I am using my blog to spread happiness to each and every reader.

    2. Who is going to read this?
    The happy people, the unhappy people and everyone in between.

    3. What kind of information will I be posting?
    I mainly blog about traveling and adventure as it relates to happiness for me. My blog is fairly new so who knows what it may evolve into.

    4. Why am I doing this?
    Away from my blog I run a business that puts me in contact with different kinds of people who sometimes share the same struggle to honor their own happiness. Some never have and some can’t figure out how to fit their happiness into “life”. I just want to show people how happiness has to be a daily decision and share some of the awesome adventures that add to my own experience.

    5. Who am I doing this for?
    I am doing this for anyone who needs a reminder that happiness is a decision, that they deserve to be happy and that they cannot settle for anything but happiness. Some days that includes myself.

    6. How often am I going to be posting and adding information?
    I made a commitment to myself to post once a week. I don’t post if I am not inspired, but by making this commitment, I also make a promise to my own spirit to seek inspiration daily!

    Thank you for this great post!

    • No problem Kelley! I love being in your presence and I love that your mission is to spread happiness. I was very excited when you told me you were going to start a blog. You’re an inspiration to me so, I know that you will be an inspiration to others.

  4. My name is Lola K and I blog about things in my life that relate to love and sensuality. The site address is: lolakbooks.blogspot.com

    1. What am I going to do with this?
    I would eventually like to generate income from my blog. Being able to share my life experiences and my naughty side is good fun and helping other people through it is great; and if I can make money from that… even better.

    2. Who is going to read this?
    People who like to read diary styled blogs. It’s cool to be able to read “How To’s” but it’s also fun and relaxing to get a sneak-peak into people’s private lives and personal thoughts.

    3. What kind of information will I be posting?
    I am always developing myself as a person. So I will be posting things that help me develop in the realm of sensuality, hopefully to my reader’s pleasure and benefit.

    4. Why am I doing this?
    It’s fun and I’ve always enjoyed public diary writing. It gives me an opportunity to really be myself- or at least mostly.

    5. Who am I doing this for?
    I am doing it for myself and for the enjoyment of my potential readers.

    6. How often am I going to be posting and adding information?
    I like to write from the heart. I can tell when something I have written sounds forced and I won’t even read it. If I won’t read it, then I know my followers won’t want to read it. I do want to be consistent though, so I do my best to put something out at least once a week (but it often ends up being more).

    Thank you for giving us the opportunity to reflect with you and share our intents with you and your readers.

    • Keep making it YOU in all forms. I sometimes find inspiration in non-fashion blogs. I like the fact that you enjoy creating stories and that it’s a diary styled blog.. I don’t come across those often. Oh yea, to generate income is definitely a plus!!

  5. Thanks for this post Hera. With the new year and a big change coming up in my life pretty soon, I’ve taken a break from my blog to think more about the direction I want to take it in. You’re questions give me more focus and remind me that it’s important to know what I want out of this. I don’t have the answers yet, but I’m working on it. :]

  6. I always ask myself. What Im going to do with all the information on the blog as Im blogging for fun, but I have notice that people find my blog because they want to learn about fashion. Im not a stylist or fashionista but I wish the information they find in my blog can be helpful.
    I also agree with you, I dont force myself for posts. Some days Im blank and I dont write, but some days its seems that creativity strikes me and I have 3 posts on mind.

    • You see sometimes it happens just like that. I believe your blog is helpful and it hits the right people. The information you have to share is the highlight of somebody’s day..or week. Keep blogging!!

  7. Hi my name is Courtney Singletary and I am a personal style and lifestyle blogger my site is http://www.courtneysfashionclimax.com I do posts on my personal fashion, DIY projects, and just the awesome things that go on in my life on a day to day basis.
    1) What am I going to do with this?
    I want to show the world who I am, that being stylish isn’t just about wearing expensive clothes. Being stylish is being an individual and projecting your personality and spirit through dress. I also want to show that you can maximize your wardrobe by using garments in unconventional ways.
    2) Who is going to read this?
    Individuals looking to channel their creativity and use the info they receive for the enhancement of their style. Viewers who want to do unconventional things to achieve their best possible look.
    3) What kind of information will I be posting?
    I will be posting my personal style outfit posts, DIY projects, fashion challenges and things that are happening that I feel are important to share in my day to day life.
    4) Why am I doing this?
    I am doing this because I want to share my love, my passion, my purpose with the world with the hopes that it gives people guidance and a way to freely express themselves in everything that they do.
    5) Who am I doing this for?
    I do this for myself because I find this as a great release of my creativity and I do it for the viewers that need that person they can relate to and feel that they are really absorbing this information and applying it in their lives.
    6) How often am I going to be posting and adding information?
    When I am inspired and have engaging and useful information to share.

Share Your Thoughts!

