Hera Nyx

Fashion is more than just a glamorous lifestyle!

Davita ‘MissSwatty’ Galloway

3 Comments

Hera Nyx Feature:

 Davita ‘MissSwatty’ Galloway

Davita “MissSwatty” Galloway is a pretty amazing person. She has a unique style, a good heart, and is talented in a number of areas. I met her a few years ago at Dillard’s at SouthPark mall in Charlotte, NC. We worked together at a styling workshop where we styled and created a storyline for our model.  I loved the energy and ideas Davita brought during the styling workshop. She definitely has an eye for style. Now that www.heranyx.com has been born, it’s only right I feature Davita. I sent her an email, we agreed on the day and decided to meet at Red@28th in Charlotte, NC to make it happen.

 Who is Davita?

 The first thing I asked as we sat down in Red@28th was, “Who is Davita?” She laughed and proudly answered, “Davita is a person struggling to be happy. I’m always conflicted between what people think I should do and what I need to do.” By “people” she is referring to her family. She takes their concerns, criticism, and critiques to heart, but at the end of the day she does what makes her happy.

http://www.facebook.com/DuppSwat
“At the end of the day I’m a happy person. I try not to let the ways of the world get me down. 
We’re all human and we go through things. I try to take that as a learning experience. 
 I’m always trying to be a better person." – Davita

Her Journey

Davita was born and raised in Winston-Salem, NC. She moved to Charlotte to attend the University of North Carolina (UNCC), where she graduated with a Bachelor’s in Public Health. A degree she doesn’t plan on using. She said, “I walked across that stage and said here you go Ma and moved to New York.” Her degree in Public Health was for her family. Giving them comfort with something to fall back on. Her true passion is in fashion.

Davita followed her heart and moved to New York. She attended Parsons School of Design and worked as an associate at Anthropologie.  Parsons was great and she loved her job at Anthropologie, but her stay in New York only lasted 2 years. Things began to get expensive and Davita got in some trouble. Her parents flew out to New York, packed her bags, and put her on a flight back to Charlotte. Everything happens for a reason. If it wasn’t for the circumstances of Davita transitioning back to Charlotte, we wouldn’t have been able to experience all her creativity and talents first hand. 

http://www.facebook.com/DuppSwat

Wearing Many Hats

She is a wardrobe stylist, author, poet, and painter. As an author she has published two books. Her first book, Two Scraped Knees, is an autobiography. It’s filled with pictures, art, poems, reflections, diary entries and interviews. Her second book, Bush Broads, is a picture book that celebrates natural-haired black women. Bush Broads is an organization created by Davita. She organized a natural glam squad (hair stylist, make-up artist, and photographer) and together they produce amazing photos. They are currently working on their second edition. It will include natural-haired men and children. Both books can be found on www.amazon.com

Life as a Wardrobe Stylist

Miss Galloway created Dupp&Swat, LLC– an all-inclusive agency that specializes in wardrobe styling; costuming, image consulting, event planning and fashion show production- with her brother Dion. Dupp&Swat is also known for their annual fashion show, Delirium. They will be presenting their 2nd annual show at the end of August. Davita has worked with North Carolina Fashion Week, Passport for Fashion, and annual fashion shows for Star of SLE Entertainment. She is the Resident Costume Designer for On Q Production Theater Company in Charlotte, NC and has been featured in Creative Loafing and Charlotte Style Magazine. In addition, she just signed on with Elevate Magazine and participated in Africa Fashion Week New York (AFWNY). She was the lead stylist for over 30 designers. Davita has been a great addition to the fashion community in Charlotte, NC. I appreciate her work.   (Check out some photos from AFWNY here). 

Dupp&Swat Boutique

Davita, Dion, and hairstylist Skyler Warren, will be opening the Dupp&Swat Boutique in Charlotte, NC. The boutique is a one-stop shop for hair, make-up, and wardrobe styling. The grand opening is soon and will be located on 2424 N. Davidson Suite 112B.  This will be great for the Charlotte area! Be sure to follow Davita on Twitter or Facebook to stay updated on information about the Dupp&Swat Boutique. 

“I love what I’m doing so much. I just want to do it all the time.
 I never get tired of it... it’s not work.” –Davita

 

 

She really is AMAZING!

 I’ve witnessed her craft. Davita has an endless amount of styling tricks and tips to ensure a flawless look for her clients. There have been times where she has made great outfits from only a handful of items. She knows how to make it work and get it done. I love her passion and the fact that she isn’t afraid to be herself. Davita is fun, full of laughter, and will have a new hairstyle each time you see her. She’s easy to talk to and will be honest about how she feels. Everything about her is daring and I respect that. Everywhere she goes everything she touches will be incredible. In my eyes she has already achieved greatness and will continue to do so.

 

photo is taken by michelle flowers photography 
“I love doing everything. Whether it’s painting, poetry, or writing, 
but it’s something about styling and just playing with clothes.
I just love everything about it. It kind of just takes all the
 pain away. I get lost.” -Davita

 ***

Feel Free to stay connected with Miss Davita Galloway through Twitter and Facebook. Be sure to check out her Blog as well.

Hera wants to know

  • What are your goals?
  • What risks have you taken while trying to pursue your passion?
  • Can you relate to Davita?
  • What is your ideal job? How will you make it happen?

Share you thoughts and stories below!

 

 

Author: Hera Nyx

You can call me Hera for short. I would describe myself as a free spirit, eccentric, wild flower; lover of fashion, art, and everything in between. My mind is filled with soooo many ideas…it gets kind of crazy up there. I’m working on perfecting the translation, but sometimes I wish I could just take a snap-shot of my visions instead. I’m all for trial and error though. It makes life thrilling. You know… taking risks, succeeding,trying, and failing, with intentions to be better. All in all I feel good about where I am in life. I’m sure of myself. Like Janelle Monae said, “I feel myself truly becoming the fearless person I have dreamt of being.”

3 thoughts on “Davita ‘MissSwatty’ Galloway

  1. Love this. Women supporting women! Davita is awesome. Thanks so much for this fantastic spotlight!

Share Your Thoughts!

