Hera Nyx

Fashion is more than just a glamorous lifestyle!

Designing Your Own Journal!

15 Comments

I really love journals and I’m pretty sure I’m obsessed with them!

Writing will forever be an outlet for me. I’m able to express myself and organize my thoughts. All my ideas, goals, projects, and sketches are in journals. That’s exactly how I brought www.heranyx.com to life. Well, last week I was inspired to design my own journal after I saw one with a ridiculous price tag ($22). Nothing was special about it. I just loved the map design it had on the cover. Why pay that price when I can cover any journal with the design of my choice right? So, I bought a few composition notebooks from the Dollar store and scrapbook paper from Hobby Lobby. Thanks to Hobby Lobby and their 50% promotion I was able to get two sheets for the price of one (30 cents each)



The Materials: Scrapbook paper, notebook, super glue, and scissors. I covered each notebook, added a little bit of super glue, and cut off any excess paper. Yup, it’s really that simple!


 

Now, I’m going “journal crazy.” It’s time to create more in different sizes, using different style journals, and creating closures for some. I’m thinking about creating one from scratch….I’ll keep you posted!

***

Speaking of journals and www.heranyx.com today marks ONE YEAR for my blog!!! It started in my head, then exploded on paper, and then brought to life. “Write the vision and make it plain”

Hera wants to know…

  •  Are you a journal fanatic?
  • What are some things you’ve created on your own?
  • Do you still like to write things out, pen and paper style?

Share your thoughts below!

Author: Hera Nyx

You can call me Hera for short. I would describe myself as a free spirit, eccentric, wild flower; lover of fashion, art, and everything in between. My mind is filled with soooo many ideas…it gets kind of crazy up there. I’m working on perfecting the translation, but sometimes I wish I could just take a snap-shot of my visions instead. I’m all for trial and error though. It makes life thrilling. You know… taking risks, succeeding,trying, and failing, with intentions to be better. All in all I feel good about where I am in life. I’m sure of myself. Like Janelle Monae said, “I feel myself truly becoming the fearless person I have dreamt of being.”

15 thoughts on “Designing Your Own Journal!

  1. Cute idea! I’m also obsessed with my idea journals. I love writing in them with fine point pens (another obsession) and seeing all my ideas laid out.

  2. I love journals, preferably lined! I love writing “old style”. Yesterday, it occurred to me that there’s a possibility my children would be using computer technology more than writing in their learning process. I mean, even I don’t write “pen and paper” as much (not sure if anyone does!!). It’s quite sad. I think it’s such a good exercise. It really helps me organize my thoughts. There’s actually research about the different effects of writing, talking and thinking on problem solving, particularly sorting through emotions and it’s funny that for negative events it really helps to talk about it and write it down, while for positive events, thinking about it is the best way to reinforce the positive aspects of it (I can’t recall the reference now but if anyone is interested I will try to find it; must be something related to well-being research though…). I love all things stationary and my personal favourite is to make filing systems out of cereal boxes and pretty wrapping paper (also in love with old maps’ prints).

    • Hey Rita, this is true with technology a lot of people don’t use journals…/ pen & paper. I agree with you though, I think it is a good exercise…for me anyway. Sometimes I just have to write it out…my handwriting and all. Although I love technology and what it can do, I still love pen and paper, books, magazines, and all other tangible items.

      Filling system out of ceral boxes.. that’s a really good idea!!

      • I agree. I personally have nothing against this technological advance. Makes life so much easier when you have to write long documents, organize bibliographies, anything really. But the old pen and paper and other things we can hold (like photo albums!!) seem still so important, at least to me 🙂

        Oh, that idea isn’t mine. I saw it in Martha Stewart’s website one day and thought “Well, this is neat! I can have whatever filing style I want with whatever pattern I want!”. It’s great for filing magazines or letters or other documents…And when you feel like a change of decoration you can just make another one!

      • Oh ok cool. Def. going to keep that idea in mind

      • Well, here’s a link so you have an idea what I mean http://www.marthastewart.com/269468/cereal-box-organizer

        But I also know that you kind find tons of ideas on pinterest too 🙂

        xo

  3. I’m still obsessed with stationary, & i used to be obsessed with journals, but I found that they stressed me out – guess I was a bit of a perfectionist about it and worried about leaving anything out. Also I’ve never felt like they were really secure where I live, haha. But i like the ones you made- there’s definitely no reason to pay $25 for a simple journal.

    • haha @ “never felt like they were really secure” ..I can understand that. I love stationary items too. & yes $$$ too much especially when I only loved the cover. I was like ahhh I can do this.. 🙂

  4. I love this post, Hera! I am obsessed with journals, journaling, and stationery in general. I must use your idea to get a bit creative with my comp books.

    Though I save text in my phone and my tab, I still like to use plain old paper and pen. I carry a journal with me everywhere I go for list-making (which I am constantly doing) and sudden bursts of inspirational thought. It seems like I have to write every single thing down nowadays.

    Happy Blogaversary to you, doll =)

  5. I love to write everything down and LOVE journals. I keep blog journals, personal journals, let it out on paper journals so as not to be mean in person 😉 you name it and I got a journal for it somewhere. Love your idea and I too am a sucker for maps as decoration lol

    • Haha exactly!! I can always jot something down in my phone, but you can never go wrong with pen and paper. Plus I love turning pages….lol

      • me too… why it is so hard for me to read from kindles/ipads etc… I NEED those pages lol (also horrid admission but when i own the book I bend corners to save my spot.. there i said it) lol

      • Lol I still do that. Sometimes ill use a post it ..I can get crazy with those too. But you know there’s something about withered paper. When its too neat its just not interesting. I need pages with character 🙂

Share Your Thoughts!

