Hera Nyx

Fashion is more than just a glamorous lifestyle!

Pleated Chiffon Palazzo Pants!

10 Comments

My roommate and I were heading out to Crown Station in Charlotte, NC, for an event called, Off the Wall. Crown Station, is a Pub and Coffee house that often host local parties. On this night it was all about classic hits from Hip-Hop, R&B, Soul, Reggae, and other genres. I immediately knew I wanted to wear my pleated chiffon palazzo pants that I bought from Value Village (only $2.50!!!). I was sure about the pants, but I had to figure out the rest of my look.

My Thought Process…

The pants are a wide leg and have a lot of movement so; I needed a top that was fitted in order to complement my silhouette. A sleeveless top would have worked, but I didn’t want something with straps. I then thought to wear a black sequin bandeau, but I wasn’t in the mood to show my stomach. This led me in the direction of tube tops. I came across a black tube top from New York & Company that I bought almost 4 years ago (tags still on). I forgot I had it. After situating my pants and top, I felt like something was missing. So, I decided to wear my animal print scarf as a belt. I like the addition of a print and how it breaks between the red & black.

Time to Accessorize!

 I’ve been rocking my little fro (my hair shrinks A LOT) for the past few days and my feather earrings have been a go to. I actually like them with this look and how they fall close to my shoulders. I didn’t feel for a necklace so, I stacked bracelets on my arm instead. Gold wedges to seal the deal and I was ready to head out!

red chiffon palazzo pants

red chiffon palazzo pantsThe pants did not have a lining already in them, so I had to wear black leggings.

Top: NY&Co. // Pants: Value Village // Shoes: Target // Earrings: Forever21 // Bracelets: Charlotte Russe

Hera wants to know…

  • Are you a fan of these pleated chiffon palazzo pants?
  • What do you like about this look?
  • What matters to you when you’re getting dress?
  • How would you have styled these pants to complement your silhouette?

Share your thoughts below!

Author: Hera Nyx

You can call me Hera for short. I would describe myself as a free spirit, eccentric, wild flower; lover of fashion, art, and everything in between. My mind is filled with soooo many ideas…it gets kind of crazy up there. I’m working on perfecting the translation, but sometimes I wish I could just take a snap-shot of my visions instead. I’m all for trial and error though. It makes life thrilling. You know… taking risks, succeeding,trying, and failing, with intentions to be better. All in all I feel good about where I am in life. I’m sure of myself. Like Janelle Monae said, “I feel myself truly becoming the fearless person I have dreamt of being.”

10 thoughts on “Pleated Chiffon Palazzo Pants!

  1. Girl this is amazing and only $2.50 that’s an excellent find..please follow my blog it would mean a lot and I just subscribed to yours its Fab..

  2. I wouldn’t change a thing. You look great!

  3. I am a fan of your red chiffon palazzo pants! What I like about how you put the outfit together is the pop of wildness with the leopard belt on top of the red palazzo pants.

    When I’m preparing my look for the day I base it off my mood and really comfort. I’m tactile sensitive so just about everything not breathable makes me itch.

    I also have a petite frame so I did like your idea of a bandeau top. Since it’s summer time and we’re still into color locking as well, I may have paired the palazzo pants with a yellow halter top to add a burst of color.

  4. OMG you’re a value village fan too? Love that place! What do I like about your look? It has a whole 60’s vibe to to it. I can see Pam Grier as Foxy Brown rocking this outfit at a smokey club somewhere in 1960’s New York. Since I cut my locs, it’s all about form fitting, but I’m also into the Mad Men dresses made by Sika Designs in London (see my post 3/30 http://maylanascloset.com/2012/03/30/wear-do-you-sika/). I would have styled this outfit exactly the same way, I would change nothing. You rocked it darling!

  5. I definitely LOVE these pants. I’m all for wide leg pants and being chiffon sets it all the way off! I love that it looks like a maxi skirt until you start moving. What matters to me when I’m getting dressed is balance. If my hair is up, then my earrings are big or long, but if I’m wearing a necklace, then I’ll put on studs [preferably pearls]. If I had these pants I would have worn a wide belt to make the pants appear high, with a cami tucked in. A pendant necklace, stud earrings, and lots of rings. I would have worn simple flat ballerina shoes. One last touch, HUGE shades.

    • Hey !!
      Yes, that’s what I love too, the fact that it looks like a skirt. You def. created a picture of a very casual outfit, like something you can wear during the day. That would look great too. I typically wear flats but have to be careful to wear them with a wide leg.

Share Your Thoughts!

